Miracle Youth Conference ’14 aka IT’S A FUCKING MIRACLE I, A YOUTH, SURVIVED THIS CONFERENCE.


DEAR BLOG WHAT UPPP WORLDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD

MY MEMORIES ARE FADING SO I’M GONNA WRITE AS QUICK AS POSSIBLE SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

I’m listening to kpop fuck my life.

There were tons of little minor hiccups during the journey to MYC, but I’m not gonna focus on that~

I’m joking lol of course I am.

First of all, my mom got me a ticket for the most awful bus going down to KL mmkay, as if taking a bus in the sweltering afternoon wasn’t enough, my mom unfortunately got conned and so I had to take this bus that was literally falling apart + was 45 minutes late + refused to budge till it got as many passengers as possible. Yeah, one of those. Thanks mom. But I eventually reached 1U at about 9ish. I was so tired and stiff and sore and I injured my shoulder while sleeping on that piece of shit bus. Thankfully, it got better before camp.

SO YES FAST FORWARD 2 DAYS I PICKED KAREN UP AND WE CHILLED AT KLCC FOR A BIT AND SHE BROUGHT ME AROUND AVENUE K AND WE BOUGHT HER THE COOLEST PAIR OF BEIGE/OFF WHITE CONVERSE AND WE HAD SUSHI AND WAITED FOR CHARMIANE AND THEN DROPPED BY THE BOOKFEST THING ( I didn’t get anything, very proud of myself) AND IT WAS ALL VERY FUN.

Charmiane’s mom works in the hotel line apparently and so she’d booked a room at this really swanky hotel which was originally for Charmiane’s family but we stayed there instead. IT WAS SO COOL. I wish I’d taken pictures. We also had a really nice dinner with them at this restaurant that was walking distance from the hotel THE FOOD WAS SO GOOD. The fish porridge is to die for. I’m still crying over what a beautiful meal that was. It was kind of like our last supper, if I’d known I would have suffered so much at camp, I’d have savored every mouthful. *muffled sobbing*

Also Charmiane had some crisis to deal with on the phone, she was chatting for a good solid HOUR or so. K and I and her (Chow chow’s) family just sat around watching TV and being extremely  giggly because of the chicken and rice wine soup we had for dinner. AND WE WATCHED SUPERNATURAL WHICH WAS GOOD YES WE FANGIRLED OVER DEAN AND HIS PRETTY PRINCESS EYES.

The next morning, I woke up before everyone else, and decided to have one last hot shower since K told me that there wouldn’t be any at camp. It was such a good shower. God.

Being the genius I am, I decided that, after showering and getting dressed, I could take a nap before C’s dad picked us up for camp. LOL BIG MISTAKE I FUCKING OVERSLEPT K AND C HAD BREAKFAST WITHOUT ME AND I WAS STARVING BUT WE WERE LATE AND C’S DAD WAS PRETTY LATE AND THERE WAS NOTHING TO EAT I SUCK.

By the time we got there it was like 11 and registration thingy closed at, like, 12. We couldn’t find the damn place because Waze was being a bitch and there were no signs leading to the bloody place. The only sign we found was this A4-sized one literally 10 metres from our destination. We should really be thanking the bored security guard for giving us great directions. S/O TO BORED SECURITY GUARD @ UPM!

We got there, we bumped into Luqman and the cats there, we got our room keys, we cried over the state of our rooms, etc.

I’m not even going to elaborate on the rooms. They were so sad. And dusty. Naga was there in the good year nineteen’99. We were also blessed with peeling paint and graffiti. One of the ones adorning the wall next to Claire’s bed featured this creepy girl watching you sleep. It was lovely. I actually kind of miss it now, even though it was more a changing room than a bedroom. 

And so we moved into someone else’s room. 3 girls we’ve known for less than 8 hours and we’re already sharing a room to sleep in huh girls really do share everything. There were 5 of us and eventually everyone fell asleep so I was stuck with this weirdo Justine and we spent the rest of the night talking about dumb girly things like boys and bras and periods. *giggles* We also told ghost stories. fun fun fun.

Basically camp was weird as hell. My mom had almost had a heart attack when she found out there was no adult supervision like mom pls there were a bunch of kids in their 20s whats the worst that could possibly happen??

I’m gonna do the bullet point thing I do when I’m too lazy to elaborate.

  1. I was in one of the best groups of ALL TIME even though the leader dude was so kiasu he was a pain
  2. I got food poisoning WHICH SUCKED also I was starving because I was fussy and didn’t eat the oily rice and I was dumb and didn’t bring my own food and yeah. But I was one of the few people who got sick so maybe I have a very weak immune system idk.
  3. I had to dance which was fun even though I am, without a doubt, the worst dancer on the planet. Some genius in my group decided to do Waka Waka for Talent Night (which was extremely entertaining) so I had to be a good sport and go along with it.
  4. I actually enjoyed most of the activities they were pretty fun yaaayyy
  5. The speakers for some of the sessions were rather condescending so boooo
  6. There wasn’t much running or outdoor stuff! That was great. Didn’t stop me from sweating like some gross man though.
  7. I got to plant a plant on one of the most disappointing field trips ever. And I had great juice @ the plant place aka fruit farm

I also met really wonderful people, I’d say that was the only really awesome thing about camp. The late nights and the zombie mornings. I met K and C’s friends from last years’ MYC, and they are such funny people and so gorgeous I was literally surrounded by pretty girls and one can only feel so sick when one is surrounded by attractive peoples. (◡ ‿ ◡ ✿)

On our last night there we came up with the brilliant idea of staying up all night doing stupid things. BECAUSE IT WAS OUR LAST NIGHT, YA FEEL? I know walking around haunted university campuses at 4am with people you barely know probably isn’t a good idea, but it seemed like a superb plan at the time. And it was fun. And playing truth or dare with strangers is fun. And starving in the middle of the night is fun. And getting high off coke is fun (high ie sugar high and Coca-Cola, not actual cocaine). And dealing with a friend with a concussion was not fun at all.

If I had to come up with a tagline for our last day, it’d be “ROOM FULL OF SWEATY TEENS IN SWEATERS”. Though really, Karen and I were the only ones in sweaters. It was hell.

Oh yes, I somehow ended up back in our room that morning, I have absolutely no idea how I got there. Apparently I woke up in the middle of the night (us geniuses decided to all sleep on the cold, hard basketball court bloody brilliant I tell you these kids are the future.) and went around looking for my slippers which some idiot was using as a pillow. And then I somehow made my way back up to the dorms, into our room.

The closing ceremony thing was rather lame. I guess, because I’m not a huge fan of cheesiness and crying, I found it very lame. But some people were bawling heh good for them I guess.

OKAY *deep breath* THERE WAS THIS DOCTOR LOVE BOX WHERE YOU COULD WRITE TO DOCTOR LOVE AND CONFESS/HOOK PEOPLE UP (MYC peeps are cool like that, they don’t want you to end up alone, love you guys, muah!). And so I set Karen up with NMR (Naked Mole Rat/Luqman the Homeschooler) and it was adorable, they were supposed to slow dance but NMR isn’t allowed to, like, intimately touch people, so he was doing THE coolest no-touchy dance. And the look K gave me was incredible. She was really working her #Fierce. I also made ChowChow get with mah group leader and it was so sweet awwh it was worth the glares~~~

 

Karen and I were the last ones to leave, my uncle had trouble finding the damn place, and so we listened to some indie music and said goodbye to everyone which was sad I guess. Meh. We drove K aaaaaaall the way back to PD and I was so exhausted I just fell asleep and didn’t stir till they shook me awake for some coconut shake which was actually pretty tasty, even though I hate coconut. Then we had dinner at PD Restaurant and I guess it was good idk there was seafood which was good I guess. AND THEN KAREN AND I HAD TO SAY OUR GOODBYES.

And then I passed out again and slept for the 2 hours it took us to get back to KL.

I think I just lazed around the next day and on TUESDAY WE WENT TO SUNWAY LAGOON!!! SUCH an improvement from the last time I went with K, we were supposed to celebrate K’s brother’s birthday, but her brothers didn’t want to go on some of the rides and cried during the horror house (Karen wasn’t with us because she was shirtless and they have a very strict no shirt no service rule) so we had to leave. Trivia time!

  • they have a bunch of emergency exits all over the place, for people who chicken out
  • It was not scary at all but little kids have an overactive imagination so it was probably terrifying to them
  • Thank God for guys who are good at consoling little boys like thank u random guys behind us who tried your best to “protect” the boys from the zombies

!!!!!!! THE WAVE POOL WAS HELLA RAD !!!!!!!!!

Unfortunately little boys do not enjoy loud music and waves. So we had to leave.

By then it was like 5 and they had to go anyway and so I bid Karen farewell for the last time. 😥

I won’t get to see her again until next year. meh.

 

The day after that I met up with Claire at 1U! We had juice (the Apricot Delight at Juiceworks is the yummiest thing ever, even though I can never finish my juice, I finished it that one time!) and chatted about stuff and I miss her so much ahhh.  Even though I only got to see her for a couple of hours, I’m satisfied eh.

Aaaand that’s it. We took the midnight bus back to Penang and it rained and I had the entire back row of seats to myself. Mwahahahaha. I fell asleep within half an hour though. Boo.

That’s it.

AU REVOIR, dumdums.

Standard

Leave a Reply

